Home Travel Desk Visitor Information

Visitor Information

Currency
The Malaysian currency is Ringgit Malaysia (RM) which comes in notes and coins. Major currencies can be exchanged at most hotels, banks and licensed money changers. One Ringgit Malaysia is approximately USD 0.22
Time Zone
Kuala Lumpur operates on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) + 8 hours.
Weather
Malaysia’s year-round tropical weather has sunny days with occasional rainfall and the average temperature ranges from 24°C to 34°C.
Attire
Business attire is most appropriate for attending Congress and business functions. For sightseeing or shopping, light cotton clothing is advised. Most malls and restaurants are air-conditioned.
Electricity
220–240V AC at 50 cycles per second. Standard UK-type three pin plugs are used.
Water
Bottled mineral water is easily available in shops, restaurants and supermarkets.
Entry Requirements / Visa / Passport
Travellers must hold a valid passport or travel document with a minimum of six months beyond the intended period of visit. Most nationalities do not require visas for social or business visits. For more information, please check the status in www.imi.gov.my or check with your local consulate. If you require a letter of invitation to facilitate your visa application, please contact the Convention Secretariat.
Access by Air
Getting to Malaysia is easy with over 40 airlines, including Malaysia national carrier - Malaysia Airlines. Malaysia's primary gateway is the state-of-the-art Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). Visitors can take flights from KLIA to all major cities and towns in the Peninsula, as well as to Sabah and Sarawak. The national budget airline is Air Asia – which flies the domestic routes as well as some international and Asian routes.

Airlines that operate flights to Kuala Lumpur include:
Air Asia http://www.airasia.com/
Air France http://www.airfrance.com/indexCom_en.html
American Airlines https://www.aa.com/worldwideSites.do
British Airways http://www.britishairways.com/
Cathay Pacific http://www.cathaypacific.com/cx/en_MY.html
China Airlines http://www.china-airlines.com/
China Southern Airlines http://www.csair.com/en/
Emirates http://www.emirates.com/my/
Etihad Airways http://www.etihad.com/en-my/
Garuda Indonesia https://www.garuda-indonesia.com/my/en/index.page
Japan Airlines http://www.my.jal.com/myl/en/
JetStar http://www.jetstar.com/
KLM https://www.klm.com/
Lufthansa http://www.lufthansa.com/online/portal/lh/my/homepage
Malaysia Airlines http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en.html
Qantas http://www.qantas.com.au/
Qatar Airways http://www.qatarairways.com/my/en/homepage.page
Royal Brunei Airlines https://www.flyroyalbrunei.com/
Saudi Airlines http://www.saudiairlines.com/portal/saudiairlines/Welcome
Singapore Airlines http://www.singaporeair.com/SAA-flow.form
Thai Airways http://www.thaiairways.com/
Turkish Airlines http://www.turkishairlines.com/
Virgin Australia http://www.virginaustralia.com/au/en/

Transportation from Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) to Hotel
Airport Limousine
This service is operated on a pre-paid coupon basis and is available 24 hours a day. Please purchase the coupons at the Limousine Counter in the International Arrival Hall. The journey from KLIA to the convention venue is about 60 minutes and cost about RM200 per trip. Budget taxis are also available. Please purchase coupon at the designated counters.

KLIA Ekspres
The KLIA Ekspres service links KLIA and Kuala Lumpur Sentral Station. The journey from KLIA to KL Sentral is 28 minutes. Trains are available every 15 minutes to 20 minutes from KLIA to KL Sentral. From the KL Sentral Station, passengers may purchase coupons at the taxi counter for the journey to their respective hotels.

Airport Coach
The pick-up point for Airport Coach is at the Ground Level of Block C at KLIA. Passengers will disembark at the Hentian Duta, Kuala Lumpur, where shuttle services are provided free of charge to major hotels in Kuala Lumpur. The journey is one hour to Hentian Duta and another 30 minutes to the convention venue. This costs RM25 per trip.
Transportation within Kuala Lumpur
LRT
The Light Rail Transit (LRT) covers a distance of 12km and consists of 13 stations. Daily operating hours are between 0600 - 2330 hrs. Season tickets can be purchased at any LRT station.

Monorail
The Kuala Lumpur Monorail system in Malaysia serves 11 stations running 8.6 km and its route starts from Titiwangsa Station to the KL Sentral Station. Daily operation hours are 0600 to 2330 hrs and it operates at 3-minute intervals.

Commuter Trains
KTM Komuter operates speedy electric train services from the KL Railway station to designated points within the city, as well as to Port Klang, Seremban, Kajang and Rawang.

City Buses
The major bus line servicing the city and suburban areas is Rapid KL. Buses are air-conditioned.

Taxis
All taxis in KL are fitted with meters and can be hailed at designated taxi stands or booked through phone.

Car Rental
Cars can be hired from the registered car rental agencies, either on hourly or daily basis.